top of page
The official website of author

Bound and Determined: The Path Forward 1900-1915 

The fourth book in Larry L. Kruckenberg's Big Bend Country Series!
Available Now On Amazon!

Larry Lee Kruckenberg invites readers to delve into the vibrant tapestry of Big Bend Country in southwestern North Dakota in his latest non-fiction work, Bound and Determined: The Path Forward 1900-1915. As the fourth installment in the esteemed Big Bend Country series, Kruckenberg once again showcases his talent for bringing history to life through captivating storytelling.

During this transformative period, residents of Big Bend Country experienced an era of significant change and progress. Despite the lingering challenges of frontier life, a palpable sense of optimism permeated the region as residents united in their pursuit of a brighter future.

On Fertile Ground

Available Now On Amazon!

Travel back in time to what was once known as Big Bend Country in southwestern North Dakota and experience firsthand the challenges and triumphs of pioneers from 1873 to 1899. 

In his latest work, On Fertile Ground, author Larry Lee Kruckenberg reimagines their lives, based on real historical accounts. Kruckenberg’s personal connection to the region is evident in the authentic and vivid details that populate these tales. From conflicts involving Native Americans to the struggles of homesteading to the arrival of European immigrants, these stories capture the spirit of the era and the resilience of the people who lived it.

This unique collection of stories is a must-read for anyone interested in the history of the northern Great Plains – particularly Dakota Territory – and is a testament to the power of storytelling to keep the past alive. Kruckenberg’s previous books, which delve into his own family history, have been widely praised for their insight and empathy, and this collection is sure to be no exception.


No One Dare Call Her A Liar: The Untold Story of Alma Kruckenberg's 1938 Murder

Winner of the 2022 IPPY Bronze Medal Award in the category of Midwest - Best Regional Non-Fiction
Available Now On Amazon!
Also available on online at DakotabookNet!
Larry Lee Kruckenberg is a retired state agency administrator. His award-winning career spanned nearly fifty years with two state wildlife agencies – North Dakota and Wyoming – and a non-profit organization that represented all the western states and provinces. During his professional career, Kruckenberg authored more than 170 magazine articles and professional papers. His first book, Big Bend Country: A Journey of Good Times, Hard Times, and Hope, debuted in November 2020 and continues to receive high praise. His eagerly anticipated second book, No One Dare Call Her A Liar: The Untold Story of Alma Kruckenberg's 1938 Murder, was published in June of 2021.

Besides writing, Larry is also an accomplished freelance photographer. Hundreds of his images have appeared in dozens of national magazines in recent years. Kruckenberg was born and raised in western North Dakota and earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Zoology/Wildlife Biology from North Dakota State University. His is a member of the Outdoor Writers Association of America, as well as numerous national conservation organizations. Larry and his wife, Roene, currently reside in Cheyenne, Wyoming, though "home" is often described as anywhere their four bird dogs lead them.

No One Dare Call Her A Liar: The Untold Story of Alma Kruckenberg's 1938 Murder

Big Bend Country: A Journey of Good Times, Hard Times, and Hope

On Fertile Ground: Frontier Challenges and Early Settlement 1873-1899

My Books
bottom of page